Organizing Committee

Judith Berman, Tel Aviv University
Yitzhak Hadar, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Benjamin A. Horwitz, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (Chair)
Daniel Kornitzer, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Nir Osherov, Tel Aviv University
Dov Prusky, ARO – Volcani Center
Amir Sharon, Tel Aviv University
Oded Yarden, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Chair)

International Scientific Committee

David Archer, The University of Nottingham, U.K.
Cees van den Hondel, University of Leiden, The Netherlands
Marc-Henri Lebrun, CNRS, BIOGER, Thiverval Grignon, France (Chair)
Jens Nielsen, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Miguel Peñalva, Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas, CSIC, Spain (Vice-Chair)                  
Merja Penttilä, VTT Technical Research Centre, Finland
Arthur Ram, University of Leiden, The Netherlands
Paul Tudzynski, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany
Gillian Turgeon, Cornell University, USA


Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Technion, Israel’s oldest university and premier technological institute, has 18 academic units for teaching and research in engineering and science. More than 12,000 undergraduate and graduate students study at Technion, in the main campus located in the Neve Shaanan neighborhood on the slopes of the Carmel, and the Faculty of Medicine located in the Bat Galim neighborhood near the port of Haifa. The campus is home to many world-class scientists and engineers including several Nobel prize laureates and awardees of additional prestigious scientific awards.
Full information can be found at the webpage:


The Israel Society for Microbiology was established in 1967, and is a non-profit organization that is legally registered in the Registrar of Associations. There are currently about 650 members in this Society, including scientists, graduate students from a variety of educational institutions in Israel, microbiologists from the fields of food and medicine, and from different sectors in industry, high school teachers, and more. The main purpose of the Israel Society for Microbiology is the cultivation and representation of the community engaged in basic and applied microbiology at the national and international level. The Association strives to encourage and promote scientific progress, alongside awakening the public at large to the contribution and importance of the Microbiology community to society and to the country.
The webpage can be found at:

The Israeli Phytopathological Society

Background and Aims:
After many years of extensive activities in various fields of plant pathology The Israeli Phytopathological Society (IPS) was established in 1968 as a non-profit organization. Currently, there are approximately 350 active members that include researchers from academic and governmental research institutes, students, extension workers, company associates and farmers. Since inauguration, the IPS has been active in promoting the disciplines of plant pathology, namely, phytopathology (sensu stricto), virology and nematology by organizing meetings, publishing professional reports, directories and newsletters and by raising funds for student fellowships. Members of the IPS meet annually and recent achievements at both academic and applied levels are reported Abstracts of the meeting are published in the journal Phytoparasitica. A one-day field excursion also takes place once a year.
An updated webpage of the IPS can be found at: